11th September 2016 : 12 - 5pm
To mark this years’ festival, we’d like to welcome you to explore some of the historically significant treasures at Davy Down.
Before opening to the public in May 1993 Davy Down in Essex had a long history of farming, dating back to at least 1730. The Land Trust took on the management of Davy Down in 2015, and work in partnership with Essex & Suffolk Water and the Davy Down Trust to manage the site which houses the dominant Stifford Pumping Station buildings, built around 1926-27 to house large diesel engines which provided the power to extract water from a 42m deep borehole in the chalk below. Water is still abstracted from there today using a modern electric pump and visitors will have the chance to find out more from Essex & Suffolk Water during guided tours of both the Pumping Stations and Filter House on Sunday 11th September between 12 – 5pm. Wildlife safaris and pond dipping for adults and children alike will also be taking place, all free of charge.